INTERPOL’s annual General Assembly was recently held in Rome.  Now that the GA has come to a close, we have been discussing some of the decisions made during the meetings.  In the last post, the President of INTERPOL was the topic; today, we review the other newest members of the Executive Committee.

The Exectutive Committee is charged with organizing the meeting agendas of the General Assembly each year, as well as overseeing the execution of the decisions made by the General Assembly; submitting ongoing projects to the General Assembly as it sees fit; and supervising the work of the Secretary General. The Executive Committee meets three times per year.

This year, the following people were elected to  Executive Committee:

  • Alan Bersin, Assistant Secretary of International Affairs for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (Vice President for the Americas), 
  • Nobuyuki Kawai, Director of the Organized Crime Department of the National Police Academy of Japan (Vice President for Asia), 
  • Algeria’s Abdelkader Kara Bouhadba, Commissaire Divisionnaire de Police, Directeur de la Police Judiciaire (Delegate for Africa), 
  • Bob Paulson, Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (Delegate for the Americas),
  • Jong Yang Kim of the Korean National Police Agency and Head of INTERPOL’s National Central Bureau in Seoul (Delegate for Asia),
  • Brigadier General Saoud Abdallah Al-Mahmoud, Director of the International Cooperation Department of Qatar’s Ministry of Interior (Delegate for Asia), and 
  • Filippo Dispenza, Brigadier General of the Italian National Police (Delegate for Europe).

All of the Executive Committee members are listed here; some members are continuing their existing terms of service.

As always, thoughts and comments are welcomed.